Department of Economic and Social Affairs Public Institutions



Committee of Experts on Public Administration

Profiles of CEPA members (2002-2005)

ECOSOC approved the UN Secretary-General’s nomination of the following 24 experts of the Committee.

Note by the Secretary-General: Appointment of 24 experts to the Committee of Experts on Public Administration (E/2002/L.1/Add.18, 23 April 2002)

Arabic | Chinese | English | French | Russian | Spanish


Marie-Françoise Bechtel (France)

Conseiller d’État, Conseil d’État

Rachid Benmokhtar Benabdellah (Morocco)

President, Al Akhawayn University


Jocelyne Bourgon (Canada)

Ambassador, Canadian Permanent Mission to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) 


Luiz Carlos Bresser-Pereira (Brazil)

Getúlio Vargas Foundation

Petrus Compton (Saint Lucia)

Attorney General and Minister of Justice


Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italy)

Chair for Public Comparative Law, L. Bocconi University of Milan

Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi (South Africa)

Minister for Public Service and Administration

Werner Jann (Germany)

Chair for Political Science, Administration and Organization, Potsdam University

Barbara Kudrycka (Poland)

Rector, Bialystok School of Public Administration 

Jin Liqun (China) (until 29 March 2004) 

Vice-Minister of Finance


Gonzalo D. Martner Fanta (Chile)

Deputy Secretary, Ministerio Secretaría General de la Presidencia


Kuldeep Mathur (India)

Academic Director, Centre for the Study of Law and Governance, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Atangana Mebara (Cameroon)

Minister of State, Secretary General, Presidency of the Republic Yaounde

Bechara Merhej (Lebanon)

Member of Parliament and Minister of State

Jose Oscar Monteiro (Mozambique)

Coordinator of Project ISAP – Instituto Superior da Administração Pública, Mozambique, and Visiting Professor, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Akira Nakamura (Japan)

Dean of the Graduate School, Department of Political Science, Meiji University

Apolo Nsibambi (Uganda)

Prime Minister


Jaime Rodriguez Arana Munoz (Spain)

Facultad de Derecho de la Universidad de La Coruña, and Cremades & Calvo-Sotelo, Abogados

Dennis Rondinelli (United States)

Glaxo Distinguished International Professor of Management, Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina

Patricia Santo Tomas (Philippines)

Minister of Labour and Employment

Otton Solis-Fallas (Costa Rica)

Member of the Board, Open University

Sakhir Thiam (Senegal)

President, University of Dakar-Bourguiba

Borwornsak Uwanno (Thailand)

Secretary-General, King Prajadhipok Institute


Wang Xiaochu (China) (from 29 March 2004) 

Vice-Minister of Personnel


Volodymyr Yatsuba (Ukraine)

Former Head of the State Administration, Dnipropetrovs'k oblast (region)